Dairy Products: Milk, Whipping Cream, Half & Half: Best Prices & Places to Buy

I’ve only been in Maryland a little over two months and I can already tell you that there are some things that you buy in the grocery stores that cost alot more on the east coast than they do on the west.  Dairy is one of those things.

Everywhere you go here, you can find dairy products, but the prices are higher than what I’m used to.  For example, a gallon of milk in Portland, OR (in October 2010) sold for about $1.99-$2.39 a gallon.  Here on the east coast, you are lucky if you can find a gallon for $2.49.  The norm is closer to $2.99.

Half & Half and Whipping Cream are also more expensive here on the east coast.  At CostCo on the West Coast (again, PDX), you can grab a 1/2 gallon of Darigold Half & Half for under $3.  Here you can purchase a quart for $1.79 and that is by far the cheapest place I’ve found for half and half.  Next best prices start at $1.99 for a quart (TJs).

Whipping Cream, however, is the one item that takes the cake in terms of how much more expensive it is here.  Maybe I didn’t buy as much when I lived on the west coast, but I really don’t remember whipping cream costing $4+ for a quart and in some places it’s even more than that.  If you calculate it by the gallon price…you would be paying $16+/gallon of whipping cream.  WOW!

These are just some of the observations I have related to prices here and prices on the west coast.  I’m sure I will have more in the future.

Best places I’ve found to buy dairy products is CostCo.  I’m sure Sam’s Club has some comparable prices and items, but I personally haven’t been there yet.

(CostCo sells Land O’Lakes Half & Half and Whipping Cream.)

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

